ODSS Athletes do well in District and Regional cross-country championships

November 3, 2022   ·   1 Comments

By Brian Lockhart

It is becoming somewhat of a tradition at Orangeville District Secondary School (ODSS) for cross-country athletes to do well in competition.

The local high school has posted some impressive results over the past few years, and this year the school’s cross-country teams finished as overall District 10 and CWOSSA champions.

The District championships were held at Centennial Collegiate Vocational Institute in Guelph on Tuesday, Oct. 18.

The big news of the day was a clean sweep with the ODSS Junior Boys competitors coming in with a one-two-three finish in the 4000-metre race.

Craig Stevenson won the race with a time of 17:37. Owen Bailey-Braun, was super close behind in second place with a time of 17:37.8.

Finishing the race in third place to complete the Orangeville trifecta, Thomas Beukeboom finished with a time of 17:33.5.

In the Novice Boys category, Wesley Mills finished second overall on the 3000-metre course with a time of 14:43.1. Sam Peck finished in tenth place with a time of 15:33.5. Ben Haddock recorded a time of 16:08.8.

In the Senior Boys 5000-metre category, Tristian Brindley had the fastest ODSS time, finishing in fifth place with a time of 21:13.3. Jack Haddock finished in seventh place with a time of 21:21.2.

Sam Pipher-Swyer finished in ninth place with a time of 22:08.03.

In the Novice Girls 3000-metre division, Chloe-Jade Grondin finished the number eight spot with a time of 18:37.0. Talia Osborne completed the course in 18:42.3, for ninth place.

Keria Phillip ended in tenth place with a time of 18:42.9. Lara Hann completed the 3000-metre in 18:45.4 – good for eleventh place.

In the Senior Girls 5000-metre race, Arowyn Fitzpatrick finished with the fastest ODSS time crossing the finish line with a time of 25:20.6., in third place.

Orangeville’s, Jorja McMaster finished in twelfth place with a time of 27:32.4. Mischa MacDonald finished in fourteenth place with a time of 28:04.6. Camryn Hagan finished in eighteenth place with a time of 28:44.7. Emma Whiting ended the race in 30:11.7., for twentieth place. Makayla Curry was close behind with a time of 30:23.8.

Several competitors earned the right to advance to CWOSSA, held in Kincardine on Thursday, Oct. 27.

Wesley Mills finished in fourth place with a time of 14:21.4.

The top ODSS competitor in junior boys was Owen Bailey-Braun who finished in seventh place with a time of 18:37.3.

“This was a very committed and talented group of runners,” said coach, Rob Berg. “We had 45 runners which is larger than usual. Every athlete should feel proud of their contribution to the District 10 and CSOWWA titles.”

Several ODSS athletes will now go on to compete at OFSAA which will be held in Uxbridge on Saturday, Nov. 5.

Readers Comments (1)

  1. Rob Berg says:

    Great writeup Brian, thanks for the detail. The online results had the wrong distances…Novices ran 4km, Juniors 5km and Seniors 6km. Thomas Beukeboom ran 17.44 (time stated in article is faster than the winners!)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.