Mono mayor, deputy mayor acclaimed for another term

August 25, 2022   ·   0 Comments

By James Matthews, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

What’s old is new again in Mono town council chamber.

Mayor John Creelman and Deputy Mayor Fred Nix went unchallenged in their campaign for re-election. As such, they were acclaimed to their municipal government seats when nominations were certified Monday after the period to submit them closed Aug. 19.

Creelman was appointed to the job of mayor part-way through the current term after former mayor Laura Ryan quit in September 2021. And that paved the way for Nix to ascend to the deputy mayor seat vacated by Creelman.

Nine candidates have inked their names to the ballot in the Oct. 24 municipal election for three seats around the council table.

Incumbent councillors Melinda Davie and Ralph Manktelow are seeking another term.

They’re joined by former councillor Elaine Capes, and newcomers Doug Thomson, Shona Robbins, Bradley Mayer-Harman, Robert John Lackey, Frank Flood, and Marc Darby.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.