Josh Sanderson one of 5 Hall Of Fame finalists

August 18, 2016   ·   0 Comments

Orangeville’s Josh Sanderson is one of the five National Lacrosse League (NLL) finalists for the its Hall of Fame class of 2016 ballotting.

Josh and John Tavares, selected by the league’s Hall of Fame Committee, will join three finalists returning from 2015 in Kevin Finneran, Tracey Kelusky and Gavin Prout on this year’s ballot.

Voting by the teams, current members of the NLL Hall of Fame and senior members of the league’s covering media will take place in the coming days.

Now Toronto Rock’s assistant general manager, Sanderson played 19 seasons in the league with Toronto (2005-2008 and 2012-2016), Rochester (1998-1999), Albany (2000-2003), San Jose (2004), Calgary (2008-2010) and Boston (2011). His teams won two Champion’s Cups (2005 and 2009) and when he retired earlier this year he was fourth in NLL career scoring with 1,357 points (449 goals and 908 assists). He ranked second in NLL history in games played (268) and assists (908), fifth in goals (449) and 10th in loose balls (1,216). He also finished seventh on NLL all-time playoff scoring list with 100 points (35 goals and 65 assists) in 23 games. He was a nine-time All-Pro (2000, 2002-2006, 2009-2010 and 2015), recording 60 or more points in every season from 2002 to 2015, including five 100-plus point campaigns.

Voters may select up to three of the five nominees on the ballot. To win induction into the Hall of Fame, nominees must be selected on a minimum of 75 percent of the ballots cast.

The nominees were selected by the league’s Hall of Fame Committee. Once nominated as finalists, candidates remain on the ballot for a second year if they do not receive enough votes for induction in their first year. Nominees come off the ballot if they do not receive enough votes in the second year, but can be re-nominated by the Hall of Fame Committee in the future to return. The Committee considered all of the individuals that were suggested by fans earlier this month via the league’s social media pages.

The NLL Hall of Fame was established in 2006. The 24 current members are:

Class of 2006 (Founding Members): Les Bartley, Russ Cline, Chris Fritz, Gary Gait and Paul Gait.

Class of 2007: Mike French, Darris Kilgour and Tom Marechek.

Class of 2008: Sal LoCascio, Johnny Mouradian and Tony Resch.

Class of 2009: Dallas Eliuk and Jim Veltman.

Class of 2010: Rich Kilgour, Dan Stroup and John Tucker.

Class of 2011: Bob Watson.

Class of 2012: Steve Dietrich.

Class of 2013: Pat O’Toole.

Class of 2014: Pat Coyle and Chris Hall.

Class of 2015: Terry Sanderson.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.