Town, school board employees on soaring 2013 Sunshine List

April 9, 2014   ·   0 Comments

By James Matthews – Trying to budget for overtime salary costs is a lot like trying to predict the future.

The provincial Ministry of Finance recently released its annual list of public-sector employees who made more than $100,000 in the preceding year.

Colloquially referred to as the Sunshine List, it has 34 municipal workers from the Town of Orangeville this year, three more than the 2012 list.

Of that tally, there are 14 Orangeville Police Service members and seven members of the town’s fire department. Thirteen others named hold such positions as municipal department directorships and other comparable roles.

Some have argued that the $100,000 benchmark isn’t fair in light of increased living costs since the list was introduced by the Mike Harris government in 1998.

Last week, Mayor Rob Adams told The Citizen that circumstances such as provincial arbitration decisions influence salary scales, particularly regarding police and other emergency services.

Regardless how one feels about naming people and detailing how much money they made, Mayor Adams said last week he feels the Sunshine List is an important tool for the public to keep on eye on how public funds are spent.

Of all the local public bodies, the one with by far the most names on the Sunshine List was once again the Upper Grand District School Board, and its top income earner the Director of Education, Martha Rogers, who earned $205,798.21 plus $681.49 in taxable benefits – up slightly from the $205,551.40 in pay and $934.08 in expenses received the previous year.

Next in line were Jennifer Rose, the board’s Executive Officer, Human Resources, at $185,057.23 in pay and $715.95 in benefits; Douglas Morrell, Superintendent of Education, at $171,270.17 and $793.95, and Linda Benallick, another superintendent, at $170,814.32 and $788.37.

In all, the Upper Grand portion of the List had 145 names, most of them principals or vice principals, but included some elementary and secondary teachers and a few non-teachers.

Undoubtedly, hours of overtime throughout the year can bump up some individuals’ earnings and put them on the list. For example, last year’s celebrations to mark Orangeville’s 150th anniversary since incorporation as a municipality meant the need for more police services and other personnel at planned events.

Brian Parrott, the town’s treasurer, said there are ways to allow some extra coin in the budgetary process for possible overtime costs. However, to be perfectly accurate it’s like predicting the future.

“We budget for whatever the salaries are,” Mr. Parrott said. “That’s a given. “We can adjust the budget if overtime is a regular thing year over year.”

In some circumstances, the number of overtime hours in a department year after year may be indicative of the need to hire another body, he said. And that’s something considered when required.

At Orangeville’s town hall, chief administrative officer Rick Schwarzer topped the list at $164,400, followed by building director Vern Douglas at $128,744, waterworks supervisor Seth Wiggins with $117,834, clerk Cheryl Johns at $114,660, facilities manager Ed Brennan with $109,379, public works director Doug Jones with $109,362, ahead of chief librarian Darla Fraser at 105,178, human resources manager Jennifer Gohn who earned $105,178, IT manager Jason Hall ($105,178).

The town’s former economic development manager, Nancy Huether took home $101,302, treasurer Brian Parrot earned $102,759, parks and recreation director Patrick D’Almada earned $100,865, and operations manager Jean Marchildon rounded out the field with $100,304.67.

Of the town’s emergency responders, Police Chief Joe Tomei was paid $162,912 followed by Deputy Chief Wayne Kalinski  at $138,294.

Two constables were next, thanks to their ability to earn overtime. Const. Lloyd Laurie got $134,406 and Const. Trevor Little  $127,893,

Staff Sgt. Dan Maloney was next at $125,701.74, while Staff Sgt. Lindsay White got $122,778. Sgt. Doug Fry earned $122,128, Sgt. James Ralph got $113,683.48, Const. Thomas Dellelce $110,061, Sgt. Chris Dryden $109,728, Const. Steven Phillips $107,182, Const. Ryan Kett $103,450, Const. Scott Davis $101,815 and Const. Andrew May  $100,578.

At the Orangeville Fire Department, Chief Andy Macintosh earned $128,744 followed by Deputy Chief Ron Morden at $106,714, Michael Richardson at $124,735, Del Godin with $118,406, Thomas Gillies at $105,894, training officer Bruce Beatty with $101,565 and Chief Fire Prevention Officer Frank Myers at $101,565.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.