Town councillors given committee assignments

January 14, 2015   ·   0 Comments

After nearly three hours of discussions, trading and requests Monday night, Orangeville Council approved portfolios and committee appointments for 2015. The final decisions have received some public criticism, especially regarding how unevenly the committee appointments seem to have been dispersed.

There was a large dispute regarding Mayor Jeremy Williams’ motion to have Councillor Gail Campbell join him in serving on the Orangeville Police Services Board. The issue came mainly from differences in opinion as to whether what the board needs right now is continuity or a complete change. The motion passed, in a 4-3 vote, with Deputy Mayor Warren Maycock and Councillors Sylvia Bradley and Scott Wilson voting against the appointment.

Two committees that Mayor Williams had intended to dissolve were brought back to life during the discussion, the Orangeville Sustainability Action Team (OSAT), and the Council Remuneration Committee. Committees that will remain deleted, as per the Mayor’s intentions are the Mayor’s Senior Advisory Committee (MSAC) and the Mayor’s Youth Advisory Committee (MYAC).

One committee which will be moving forward without any council representation will be the Arts & Culture Committee. The assignment was originally given to Councillor Bradley, who expressed her desire to see someone else take it on, due to a lack of experience in the area. With no other councillors interested in the committee, the Town Clerk confirmed that this particular committee does not require a member of council to sit on it.

Council Portfolio Assignments and Committees:

Councillor Bradley: Public Works (includes engineering, supply and distribution of water, sanitary and storm sewers, pollution control plant, roads and traffic); Heritage Orangeville (Orangeville Public Library Board, Orangeville Sustainability Action Team, Sign Development Committee).

Councillor Campbell; Protection to People and Property (Fire and Building Departments); Access Orangeville; Credit Valley Conservation, Fire Service Advisory Committee, Honours Committee, Police Services Board, Building and Bylaw.

Councillor Nick Garisto: Finance and Administration (focuses on policy matters with respect to the Treasury, Clerks and Administration Departments); Economic Development Committee, Orangeville Business Improvement Area Board, Island Lake Management Committee, Property Standards Committee, Transit Committee.

Councillor Don Kidd: Parks and Recreation (assesses recreational needs of the community and recommends short-term solutions and long-term strategies for the development of recreational opportunities); Recreation Committee, Theatre Orangeville Committee, Snow Clearing Committee (temporary).

Councillor Wilson: Community Planning and Development (considers issues respecting activities of the Planning Department including housing and development issues relating to official plan and zoning matters): Age Friendly Committee, Committee of Adjustment, Events Committee, General Bylaw Committee, Orangeville Public Library Board.

Deputy Mayor Maycock: Committee of the Whole.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.