Town council, committees paid $274,000 last year: treasurer

March 22, 2018   ·   0 Comments

Written By: Jasen Obermeyer

Orangeville’s treasurer has disclosed to town council a statement showing that councillors and committee members received $274,760.42 in remuneration and expenses in 2017.

The salaries were revealed at Monday evening’s council session. Section 284(1) of the Ontario Municipal Act required the treasurer, Marc Villeneuve, to provide council with an itemized statement on remuneration and expenses.

Mayor Jeremy Williams was the highest paid Orangeville politician. He received a total of $85,597.40 last year; $51,091.91 as Mayor, $20,441.75 as a member of Dufferin County council, $4,440.01 as a member of the Orangeville Police Services Board, and $9,623.73 as a member of Orangeville Hydro’s board of directors.

The next highest paid was Deputy Mayor Warren Maycock, who received $31,544.20 at the municipal level, while at the county level as a member of council he received $17,919.36. In addition, he got $9,623.73 as a member on the Orangeville Hydro board, for a grand total of $59,087.29.

The other members of Orangeville council were paid as follows, from most to least: Councillor Gail Campbell ($43,680.47) including $8,170.62 as a member of the police services board and $884.88 as the town’s representative on Credit Valley Conservation, Councillor Sylvia Bradley ($28,885.43), Councillor Don Kidd ($28,288.88), and Councillor Nick Garisto ($28,328.03).

Also released were the remunerations for board members.

Ken Krakar, chairperson of the police board, received $14,879.67. Board members Anne Welwood and Joanne Jordan received $6,253.04 and $4,553.04 respectively.

For the Orangeville Public Library Board, Mary Rose earned $203.53, while Patrick Neely and Janice Kidd both earned $167.90.

Veronica Cvet earned $406.42 as a member of the heritage committee. Ted Zarudny received $181.42 as reimbursement for purchases made for the Communities in Bloom committee. Troy Brett received $80 as a member of the municipality’s economic development committee.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.