Men’s Homelessness Committee officially approved

July 15, 2021   ·   0 Comments

By Sam Odrowski

Orangeville Council approved the creation of a Men’s Homelessness Committee during their Monday (July 12) night meeting.

The terms of reference for the committee was amended to allow eight citizen representatives instead of six, which include: Anthony Carnovale, Christopher Sheehan, James Jackson, Louis Sapi, Margo Young, Michael Demczur, Nolan Bentley and Terrance Carter. From Council, Mayor Sandy Brown, Coun. Joe Andrews and Coun. Debbie Sherwood are also part of the committee.

The goal of the committee is to get a men’s shelter operating locally before the winter.

Coun. Andrews noted that he’s had some residents who aren’t on the committee reach out and express interest, but unfortunately, they can’t join as all spaces are filled.

“I think that their interest is genuine but at the same time, I think that we have a solid committee that has been struck,” he said. “I think that these individuals that I’ve spoken to in particular are looking for the opportunity at some point just to listen, learn and potentially even participate in some subcommittee work if that ever ends up developing at some point in this committee.”

Coun. Sherwood said she’s also heard from residents looking to get involved.

Mayor Sandy Brown, who formed the committee, said in discussions with Karen Landry, the Town’s clerk, he learned that the subcommittee work can only be carried out by committee members. However, any member of the public can be invited to committee meetings, particularly those with special knowledge on homelessness.

“These will be public meetings and those who have reached out, Coun. Andrews and Coun. Sherwood, we will be inviting those individuals to come to the first meeting and we’re very happy to have them participate,” said Mayor Brown.

The first meeting is expected to take place before the end of July.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.