Headwaters doctors Family Physicians of the Year

December 10, 2014   ·   0 Comments

Two Headwaters Health Care Centre  physicians, Drs. Stephen and Stephanie Milone, received this year’s Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP) Regional Family Physician of the Year Award.

The award recognizes seven family physicians across Ontario for their outstanding contributions within their region, the exemplary care they give their patients, and their involvement in activities that enhance family medicine in the province.

The physicians share a family medicine practice in Orangeville. In addition, Dr. Stephen Milone practises anesthesia at Headwaters, while Dr. Stephanie Milone is a co-Chief of the Headwaters’ Emergency Department. The couple provide care for newborns and inpatients at Headwaters, as well as palliative care to patients in the community. They teach medical students and residents through the Rural Ontario Medical Program, and are local coordinators for the University of Toronto’s Rural Family Medicine Program.

“Drs. Stephen and Stephanie Milone have always displayed an unparalleled devotion to family medicine and to the overall health and well-being of this community,” said Dr. Somaiah Ahmed, Headwaters Chief of Staff and Vice-President of Medical Affairs. “They provide excellent and comprehensive care for their patients both at Headwaters and in their private practice, and are truly deserving of this award.”

The Milones received the award on Thursday, November 27, during the Ontario College of Family Physicians Honours and Awards Ceremony and were recognized at Headwaters last Thursday, December 4,  during a staff recognition ceremony.

“At Headwaters we are committed to providing every patient with an exceptional experience every time they walk through our doors and Drs. Stephen and Stephanie Milone share our commitment by providing the highest level of care to every patient they see,” said Liz Ruegg, Headwaters President and CEO. “We are very proud to have them as part of our outstanding health care team at Headwaters, and we congratulate them on this tremendous honour.”

The two doctors join other local physicians previously awarded by the Ontario College of Family Physicians. Dr. Ken Derksen received the Region 4 Family Physician of the Year in 2012. Dr. Amy Horvat was awarded the Award of Excellence in 2013 by the College of Family Physicians of Canada. She was recognized for her commitment to clinical teaching and her vision and work ethic in improving access to patient care in the community.

“Our award-winning physicians represent excellence in clinical care, teaching and commitment to their patients and communities,” said Dr. Jonathan Kerr, OCFP 2013-2014 President and Chair of the Awards Committee. “They show the strength of family medicine and the multitude of ways family doctors contribute to providing comprehensive and coordinated care across our province.”

The Ontario College of Family Physicians is the voice of family medicine representing more than 12,500 family physicians providing continuity of care in remote, rural and urban communities throughout the province. Its mandate is to support members by providing evidence-based education and professional development, by promoting and recognizing leadership excellence in family medicine and by advocating for the role family physicians play in delivering the highest quality care to patients and families across Ontario. The not-for-profit and voluntary organization was established in 1954 and is the provincial chapter of the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.