Dufferin County councillors’ 2017 salaries disclosed to public

February 27, 2018   ·   0 Comments

By Jasen Obermeyer

Dufferin County’s politicians were paid $286,438 in 2017, according to a staff report released last week.

For the average homeowner in the county  with a property valued at $400,000, that equals about $12.66, or less than one per cent of the $1,583 county portion tax, to pay for the county’s elected officials.

The remuneration for county councillors is up slightly from 2016’s total of $280,013.

Melanchthon Mayor Darren White, who served as the county’s 2017 warden, was the highest paid county politician, receiving a total of $50,385, including $6,986 in reimbursement for mileage and expenses.

The second highest paid councillor was Mulmur Mayor, and current warden, Paul Mills, at $24,459. Mayor Mills received an extra $1,000 as chair of Public Works Committee, and $2,849 for expenses and mileage.

Mono Mayor Laura Ryan received $22,046, along with $1,000 as chair of the of the county’s community services committee. Mayor Ryan was also reimbursed $2,625 for mileage and expenses.

The remaining members of county council were paid as follows, from most to least: Orangeville Mayor Jeremy Williams ($20,441), Amaranth Mayor Don MacIver ($20,029), Mulmur representative Earl Hawkins ($19,771), Mono Deputy Mayor and General Government Services Committee chair Ken McGhee ($19,671), Amaranth Deputy Mayor Jane Aultman ($18,991), Grand Valley Mayor Steve Soloman ($18,334), Shelburne Deputy Mayor Geoff Dunlop ($18,217), East Garafraxa Mayor Guy Gardhouse ($18,202), Shelburne Mayor Ken Bennington ($17,967) and Orangeville Deputy Mayor Warren Maycock ($17,919).

The councillors reimbursed the most for mileage and expenses were Mayor White ($6,986), Mayor Mills ($2,849), Mayor Ryan ($2,625), and Mayor Williams ($2,522).

Per county policy, one-third of each politician’s salary is tax-free. As part of their salaries, they are awarded an annual Internet allowance of $900.

Readers Comments (0)

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.